Charles Bukowski

We are like roses that have never bothered to
bloom when we should have bloomed and
it is as if
the sun has become disgusted with

Born: Andernach, Germany: 1920
Died: San Pedro, California: 1994

Charles wrote more than 45 books of poetry and prose, and many have been translated into other languages. Most of his books were published by Black Sparrow Press. He began writing early in life, but did not publish anything until the early 1960s (except for some earlier poetry). He was a drifter who was living on the edge, working different jobs. His fascination with death and insanity appear in his writings. Though not considered “beat,” he is often included in anthologies and publications that discuss other beat works.


Flower, Fist and Bestial Wail (1960)
Longshot Pomes for Broke Players (1962)
Run with the Hunted (1962)
It Catches My Heart in Its Hands (1963)
Crucifix in a Deathhand (1965)
Cold Dogs in the Courtyard (1965)
Confessions of a Man Insane Enough to Live with Beasts (1965)
All the Assholes in the World and Mine (1966)
At Terror Street and Agony Way (1968)
Poems Written Before Jumping out of an 8 Story Window (1968)
Notes of a Dirty Old Man (1969)
A Bukowski Sampler (1969)
The Days Run Away Like Wild Horses Over the Hills (1969)
Fire Station (1970)
Post Office (1971) Mockingbird Wish Me Luck (1972)
Erections, Ejaculations, Exhibitions and General Tales of Ordinary Madness (1972)
South of No North (1973)
Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame: Selected Poems (1955-1974)
Factotum (1975)
Love Is a Dog from Hell: Poems 1(974-1977)
Women (1978)
Play the Piano Drunk/Like a Percussion Instrument/Until the Fingers Begin to Bleed a Bit (1979)
Shakespeare Never Did This (1979)
Dangling in the Tournefortia (1981) Ham on Rye (1982)
Bring Me Your Love (1983)
Hot Water Music (1983)
There’s No Business (1984)
War All the Time: Poems (1981-1984, 1984)
You Get So Alone At Times That It Just Makes Sense (1986)
The Movie: “Barfly” (1987)
The Roominghouse Madrigals: Early Selected Poems, (1946-1966, 1988)
Hollywood (1989)
Septuagenarian Stew: Stories & Poems (1990)
The Last Night of the Earth Poems (1992)
Screams from the Balcony: Selected Letters (1960-1970, 1993)
Pulp (1994)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *